Episode 90 - Nathan Kleinmeyer

October 20th, 2018

Secondary principal Nathan Kleinmeyer joins the guys live from ITEC to talk conference talkaways and being half of an edu-power couple. 

Note - you will notice a couple gaps later in the conversation where the wifi cutout. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

Sharing is caring:

#ITECIA https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=%23itecia&src=typd 

The Danger of a Single Story: https://www.ted.com/talks/chimamanda_adichie_the_danger_of_a_single_story?language=en 

 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 89 - Michael Cohen

October 3rd, 2018

Tonight the guys welcome YULA High School Director of Innovation Michael Cohen, aka The Tech Rabbi http://twitter.com/thetechrabbi, to the show! We talk about his journey of working in marketing and design for non-profits to speaking to his current role at YULA. He shares with us how he brings design and entreprenurship into the classroom. Check out his website: https://linktr.ee/thetechrabbi 

Sharing is Caring:

Neb Preps http://twitter.com/thenebpreps 

Elementary Book Club for Advanced Readers: https://catlintucker.com/2018/10/elementary-book-club/ 

Brandon Steiner: https://twitter.com/BrandonSteiner 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 88 - Patrick Donovan

September 19th, 2018

The guys take on a digital citizenship discussion before welcoming Ames technology coach Patrick Donovan http://twitter.com/donovanscience to the show! We talk the changing role of tech coaches, the latest episode of the Friendly Disruption podcast that he cohosts https://friendlydisruption.podbean.com/, and biking across Iowa.

Sharing is Caring:

Earshot App http://theearshotapp.com 

Start With Low Hanging Fruit: http://katiedays.com/blog/2018/09/02/start-with-low-hanging-fruit-resistance-is-good/ 

Leslie Osborn: https://twitter.com/LPralleOsborn 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 87 - Jesse Lubinsky

September 5th, 2018

We kick off season 6 with Jesse Lubinsky http://twitter.com/jlubinsky, Director of Technology & Innovation in New York. We talk about where he got to talk his daughter this summer, what's happening with the new podcast he's co-hosting, and his upcoming trip to Denmark for the Google Innovator Academy.

Sharing is Caring: 

Josh's appearance on the Content Generation podcast: http://classintercom.com/the-content-generation-episode-7-josh-allen-lewis-central-community-schools/

Taking Action Club - White Fragility: https://www.amazon.com/White-Fragility-People-About-Racism/dp/0807047414 

Partial Credit podcast: http://partial.credit 

Nope Chrome extension: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/nope-cant-right-now/hkalleiiedmagdcjgjpciedfeojjlikm?hl=en-US&utm_source=chrome-ntp-launcher 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 86 - Karl Hehr

June 1st, 2018

We wrap up the school year with Ames Tech Director Karl Hehr. We talk about his path to get to where he is now, a hilarious story about why his kids are hockey crazy, and how he has, as a tech director, built relationships with teachers and administrators.

Sharing is Caring:

Kayla Nightser, teacher librarian: http://twitter.com/kayla_nightser

Why Teens Should Understand Their Own Brain: https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2018/05/15/609769519/why-teenagers-should-understand-their-own-brains-and-why-their-teachers-should-t 

Is Everyone Really Equal? https://www.amazon.com/Everyone-Really-Equal-Introduction-Multicultural/dp/080775269X 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 85 - Jamie Gilchrist

May 2nd, 2018

Tonight we welcome tech integrationist Jamie Gilchrist https://twitter.com/jamiemgilchrist to talk about how her district is preparing teaching staff and administrators for moving to a full 1:1 learning environment. We also dive into how her family is transitioning to being a single mom of two. 

Sharing is caring:

#GoOpen Summit - June 11 - http://bit.ly/goopenjune11 

Out of the Classroom, Out of Touch: http://joshstumpenhorst.com/out-of-the-classroom-and-out-of-touch/ 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 84 - Jon Becker

April 18th, 2018

Jon Becker http://twitter.com/jonbecker joins the show to talk about where he sees higher ed going, where he got the idea to "prune and tune" your social media network, and what he would do if his favorite teamed traded for a player that rhymes with "Shmanton."

Sharing is Caring:

Follow Chase Piper: https://twitter.com/chasepipe 

Privacy In Context (book): https://www.amazon.com/Privacy-Context-Technology-Policy-Integrity/dp/0804752370 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 83 - Nick Polyak

April 4th, 2018

Nick Polyak http://twitter.com/npolyak talks about sustaining culture as a superintendent, how they are supporting career and technical ed, and what he his doing to help train the next generation of superintendents. 

Sharing is Caring

Marty Smith's America podcast https://twitter.com/MartySmithESPN/status/980778804573556736 

Stop Asking About My Kids' College Plan: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/24/opinion/sunday/stop-asking-about-my-kids-college-plans.html 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 82 - Bracket Bustin

March 21st, 2018

Josh & Devin re-visit a crazy NCAA tournament and give props to the UMBC Twitter account https://twitter.com/UMBCAthletics 

Sharing is Caring:

New YouTube Live: https://youtube-creators.googleblog.com/2018/03/making-it-easier-to-go-live.html 

Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are: https://www.amazon.com/Everybody-Lies-Internet-About-Really/dp/0062390856/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1521684665&sr=8-1&keywords=everybody+lies+big+data%2C+new+data%2C+and+what+the+internet+can+tell+us 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 81 - Joe Mazza

March 7th, 2018

The guys welcome back CEO of Maker Dads www.maker-dads.com Joe Mazza http://twitter.com/joe_mazza. We got a tour of the home studio and a peek into what's happening in the Maker Dads world. We also talked about the need for students and kids to be making and the power of male role models in kids' lives.

Sharing is Caring: 

3Doodler https://www.amazon.com/3Doodler-Create-Plastic-Strands-Non-Toxic/dp/B01LXC9A2N/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1520484020&sr=8-3&keywords=3doodler 

Weapons of War Ban: https://www.change.org/p/paul-ryan-weapons-of-war-ban?recruiter=858699069&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=share_petition&utm_term=share_petition 

Maker Dad Summer Retreat: https://www.facebook.com/makerdads/photos/a.10151117781860136.778010.562215135/2065501960360670/?type=3&theater 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

- Older Posts »