Episode 94 - Jaime Casap

December 12th, 2018

After sharing some Christmas tree fails, we had a fantastic, wide-ranging interview discussion with Google Education Evangelist Jaime Casap. From his work now with Google to two new projects that are coming soon, Jaime shares some fantastic insight on how much education really has changed and what are the real differences between now and the 1800s. 

Sharing is Caring:

99% Invisible: https://twitter.com/99piorg

Slides Carnival: https://www.slidescarnival.com/

"The New Education": https://www.amazon.com/New-Education-Revolutionize-University-Students/dp/0465079725 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 93 - Ken Shelton

November 28th, 2018

The guys welcomed digital storyteller, educator, keynote, Ken Shelton http://twitter.com/k_shelton to the show! Ken talked about the state of UCLA football, the evolution of his talk on equity, and what drives him in education.

Sharing is Caring:

Mustache Smash: https://www.amazon.com/Spin-Master-Games-Moustache-Smash/dp/B00IGR5EQE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1543457726&sr=8-1&keywords=mustache+smash

We Were Eight Years in Power: https://www.amazon.com/We-Were-Eight-Years-Power/dp/0399590560 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 92 - Catlin Tucker

November 15th, 2018

In this episode, Devin & Josh welcome Catlin Tucker https://twitter.com/Catlin_Tucker to talk about why this year was the right year to take a sabbatical, how she is continuing to work with teachers this year, and her experience losing her California home to a forest fire a year ago. Plus, she shares the first ever Insta Pot recipe and explains how she got the nickname "Executioner." Yeah, we covered a lot of ground.

Sharing is Caring:

Material UI http://materialui.co

Nebraska Kid Plays Bohemian Rhapsody: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kg9DOafqmZA 

Instant Pot Cheesy Southwestern Lentils & Brown Rice   https://www.platingsandpairings.com/instant-pot-cheesy-southwestern-lentils-brown-rice/ 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 91 - Taylor Siebert

November 4th, 2018

Tonight we had a great conversation with Taylor Siebert http://twitter.com/taylorsiebert on how he went from ceiling insulation to providing a place for students across the country to share the content they are creating. Taylor is incredibly insightful about the attributes that have made both of his businesses, Striv http://striv.tv and Class Intercom http://classintercom.com, successful, as well as the people that were instrumental in his life leading up to this point.

Sharing is caring:

My Names Not Hungry https://twitter.com/namesnothungry 

Go Vote! https://www.vote.org/polling-place-locator/ 

Subscribed: https://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=subscribed+book&tag=googhydr-20&index=aps&hvadid=258011030594&hvpos=1t2&hvnetw=g&hvrand=12072892831590856390&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=e&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1021609&hvtargid=kwd-461241640229&ref=pd_sl_6ehogi1kab_e_p38 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 90 - Nathan Kleinmeyer

October 20th, 2018

Secondary principal Nathan Kleinmeyer joins the guys live from ITEC to talk conference talkaways and being half of an edu-power couple. 

Note - you will notice a couple gaps later in the conversation where the wifi cutout. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

Sharing is caring:

#ITECIA https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=%23itecia&src=typd 

The Danger of a Single Story: https://www.ted.com/talks/chimamanda_adichie_the_danger_of_a_single_story?language=en 

 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 89 - Michael Cohen

October 3rd, 2018

Tonight the guys welcome YULA High School Director of Innovation Michael Cohen, aka The Tech Rabbi http://twitter.com/thetechrabbi, to the show! We talk about his journey of working in marketing and design for non-profits to speaking to his current role at YULA. He shares with us how he brings design and entreprenurship into the classroom. Check out his website: https://linktr.ee/thetechrabbi 

Sharing is Caring:

Neb Preps http://twitter.com/thenebpreps 

Elementary Book Club for Advanced Readers: https://catlintucker.com/2018/10/elementary-book-club/ 

Brandon Steiner: https://twitter.com/BrandonSteiner 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 88 - Patrick Donovan

September 19th, 2018

The guys take on a digital citizenship discussion before welcoming Ames technology coach Patrick Donovan http://twitter.com/donovanscience to the show! We talk the changing role of tech coaches, the latest episode of the Friendly Disruption podcast that he cohosts https://friendlydisruption.podbean.com/, and biking across Iowa.

Sharing is Caring:

Earshot App http://theearshotapp.com 

Start With Low Hanging Fruit: http://katiedays.com/blog/2018/09/02/start-with-low-hanging-fruit-resistance-is-good/ 

Leslie Osborn: https://twitter.com/LPralleOsborn 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 87 - Jesse Lubinsky

September 5th, 2018

We kick off season 6 with Jesse Lubinsky http://twitter.com/jlubinsky, Director of Technology & Innovation in New York. We talk about where he got to talk his daughter this summer, what's happening with the new podcast he's co-hosting, and his upcoming trip to Denmark for the Google Innovator Academy.

Sharing is Caring: 

Josh's appearance on the Content Generation podcast: http://classintercom.com/the-content-generation-episode-7-josh-allen-lewis-central-community-schools/

Taking Action Club - White Fragility: https://www.amazon.com/White-Fragility-People-About-Racism/dp/0807047414 

Partial Credit podcast: http://partial.credit 

Nope Chrome extension: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/nope-cant-right-now/hkalleiiedmagdcjgjpciedfeojjlikm?hl=en-US&utm_source=chrome-ntp-launcher 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 86 - Karl Hehr

June 1st, 2018

We wrap up the school year with Ames Tech Director Karl Hehr. We talk about his path to get to where he is now, a hilarious story about why his kids are hockey crazy, and how he has, as a tech director, built relationships with teachers and administrators.

Sharing is Caring:

Kayla Nightser, teacher librarian: http://twitter.com/kayla_nightser

Why Teens Should Understand Their Own Brain: https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2018/05/15/609769519/why-teenagers-should-understand-their-own-brains-and-why-their-teachers-should-t 

Is Everyone Really Equal? https://www.amazon.com/Everyone-Really-Equal-Introduction-Multicultural/dp/080775269X 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

Episode 85 - Jamie Gilchrist

May 2nd, 2018

Tonight we welcome tech integrationist Jamie Gilchrist https://twitter.com/jamiemgilchrist to talk about how her district is preparing teaching staff and administrators for moving to a full 1:1 learning environment. We also dive into how her family is transitioning to being a single mom of two. 

Sharing is caring:

#GoOpen Summit - June 11 - http://bit.ly/goopenjune11 

Out of the Classroom, Out of Touch: http://joshstumpenhorst.com/out-of-the-classroom-and-out-of-touch/ 

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)

- Older Posts »